Looking Back….

725578368c91b636de7c0ae40b989fe3

This is my second to last course in the PIDP program and it’s been a lot of hard work, late hours and frantic submissions. From where I started to where I am now is a completely different place. I think the courses that really stuck with me were curriculum development and classroom assessments. I believe that it’s important to understand why were are teaching what we’re teaching and to understand if the assessment is congruent with the outlines. I work with instructors who don’t have this formal course and you can see that they lack understanding in the relationship between these. It’s not that they don’t have talent or aren’t good teachers they simply don’t know to look for a misweighted assignment or an exam that doesn’t follow the domains that makes a good exam. It’s a case of you don’t know what you don’t know.

I have learned that I dislike making digital projects. I’m not good at them and I don’t think I’m a case of practice makes perfect. I understand their value and application but they are time consuming and it usually takes me longer to do them than a power point or lecture. I will keep trying but I have a feeling they won’t take the primary focus of my classroom delivery. I also dislike blogs- a lot! I understand their value from an instructor view point but I don’t feel that they accurately convey what the writer may be trying to say. Not all of us are great at putting thoughts/feelings into words.

I realize that the PIDP program is merely the tip on a very large educational iceburg and it has me thinking about taking my Masters in Education. I like the idea of curriculum development and designing assessment tools. Of course I still have to do my capstone so we shall see that kills my M.Ed dreams!

I think the most important thing I have learned personally is that you can’t simply show up and teach. You may have the information/skill/knowledge but if you don’t know how to convey all of that in a meaningful and measurable way that promotes understanding, engagement and application then you aren’t teaching. I believe it’s naive to think otherwise and until this course this is how I thought. The other important lesson I’ve learned is that it’s ok to fail as long as you take the feedback given as a positive reflection and apply it to your next attempt. A sentiment I plan on passing onto my future students when they are feeling discouraged.

 

Leave a Reply

