Hattie’s 8 Mindframes

Throughout PIDP 3250 there has been new ideas and resources for me to examine and research. One of the topics/themes that has come up is Hattie’s 8 Mindframes – something I had never heard of before so I decided to go searching. Here is what I found and I included my responses to the 8 Mindframes:

  1. My fundamental task is to evaluate the effect of my teaching on students’ learning and achievement.
    1. I use Minute Papers for some classes to get student feedback. It allows me to see where things went right/wrong or actually worked!  It helps to guide my lessons and information to include/remove
  2. The success and failure of my students’ learning is about what I do or don’t do. I am a change agent.
    1. I agree with this up to a point but shouldn’t students, especially adults take some ownership of their learning experience – success and failures? 
  3. I want to talk more about learning than teaching.
    1. We need to learn with our students and discover how to engage them. During some lessons I tell the students about what I learned in a similar situation to help make the point. When I do my lessons, I try to see what is new information, what it means to me and how can I apply it to the class in a way all will understand/relate. 
  4. Assessment is about my impact.
    1. I agree to a point but I still refer back to ownership for both the student and myself. I understand how or what I teach can influence the student and perhaps their engagement but shouldn’t they shoulder some of the responsibility when it comes to their learning?
  5. I teach through dialogue not monologue.
    1. To me this is facilitation rather than lecture. To include the class in their learning which help me to evaluate understanding/comprehension of their knowledge and assess if I’m on the right path of instructional delivery. 
  6. I enjoy the challenge and never retreat to “doing my best”.
    1. I think we should start with “doing my best” and go up from there. You can always learn to do something better, more efficiently, etc. 
  7. It’s my role to develop positive relationships in class and staffrooms.
    1. A positive attitude about what you are teaching translates into student learning. Enthusiasm and an obvious love of the subject I have found, makes the students interested in knowing why it makes me so happy (especially when they find the topic less than interesting). The same goes with staff – positive relationships with staff can only help you when you need it. How often have you offered to help the negative person in your office? 
  8. I inform all about the language of learning
    1. My interpretation of language of learning is about communication. How we communicate – which includes active listening and asking questions related to the topic. I do speak to my students about active listening – are they actually hearing what is being said. Questions asked – before asking the question, did we cover that material already? Are you looking for clarification? Is there misunderstanding? It’s also my job to clarify the question and engage the student in critical thinking. Allow them the opportunity to figure it out by using guiding questions. 

There is so much information out there about how we should assess our teaching, how to engage our students, how to evaluate learning that it can be a bit overwhelming. For me, I will continue to search for these things and perhaps find a common theme or idea that resonates with me. I need to be engaged in what I’m teaching, I need to be able to be fairly assessed, I need to have tools that can accurately evaluate learning. My question is, as educators, do we actually understand what WE need or is it all supposed to be learner focused? Can the two be symbiotic?

Reference:

http://visible-learning.org/2014/08/john-hattie-mind-frames-teachers/     Retrieved  on November 15th, 2015

Leave a Reply

